Home News

FOI Awards 2023

eCase FOI Awards 2023

The Scottish Information Commissioner is pleased to be supporting the eCase FOI Awards, an exciting new award scheme designed to recognise and celebrate FOI good practice across the UK. 

The awards are seeking nominations for recognition across four categories:

  • Practitioner of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Rising Star
  • Best Initiative

Nominations are open now, and we'd encourage anyone who knows of a colleague, team or initiative that deserves recognition - whether from your own organisation or elsewhere - to consider making a nomination. But be quick - the deadline for nominations is 15 December 2022.

The judging panel will include Scottish Information Commissioner Daren Fitzhenry, along with colleagues from the Information Commissioner's Office (ICO), the Information and Records Management Society, the Campaign for FOI in Scotland and others. The initial judging process will be carried out anonymously, ensuring the focus is kept squarely on the work done and the impact achieved. 

Scottish Information Commissioner Daren Fitzhenry said:

"The staff who delivery FOI on a daily basis are key to the success of freedom of information; helping to ensure that individuals and communities are aware, informed and engaged. These new awards are an opportunity to publicly recognise the hard-work and commitment to FOI principles that I regularly see from staff working in FOI, and I'm delighted to be involved in this exciting initiative."

Winners will be announced at a free conference in Birmingham on 8 February 2023. For more information on the awards, to make a nomination, or to register your interest in the free conference, visit the eCase FOI Awards website.